“Don’t push the river, it will travel at its own speed anyway.”

February 8, 2011

“Don’t push the river, it will travel at its own speed anyway”

When Dr. Brian Weiss mentioned this Buddhist expression on page 94 of Same Soul Many Bodies, a few thoughts went through my head:

What a powerful quote, I thought. So often, I’ve found myself resisting life as it is-worrying about life working out a certain way, not accepting certain situations and wanting changes to happen quickly. I’m sure you can relate. Sometimes we’re so busy wanting things to happen that we miss out on the joy and beauty right in front of us. Don’t get me wrong, I do believe in creating possibilities and working towards one’s dreams but certain situations are uncontrollable and certain situations are actually blessings in disguise.

Weiss, I think, is emphasizing the value of patience. Things happen to us when they are supposed to happen. Lessons (what we see as problems) come to us right when they need to. Certain things just can’t be forced. Patience and acceptance are so important during those moments when we are resisting the most. I really do believe that time heals everything and that things work out the way they are supposed to. In order to see that we need to be patient.

Leave a Reply

