Sade & Jay Z’s “Moon & Sky Remix”?

April 19, 2011

I was surprised (understatement) to learn about the remix for Sade’s “Moon & Sky”. I’m pretty obsessed with the original (not sure if you read an earlier post of mine about it). I’m sure most people’s response to this “news” was similar to mine: why why why?  I’m not a hater (and I promise to have very little negativity on this blog) but come on – out of all people, Jay Z? So after I got over the shock, I went ahead and took a listen. I have to say, I really enjoyed the beat. It actually reminded me of the beat from Alicia Keys & Drake’s “Unthinkable” which inspired me to research further. Looks like Drake’s producer, Noah “40” Shebib (I love my Canadians), actually produced this number – same producer for “unthinkable”. I personally think 40 is a beast! He is so talented. His beats are sick; they are very smooth and captivating and, at the same time, showcase the lyricist’s voice very well. So although the original was flawless, the remix was definitely not bad. I felt that Jay Z’s verse was fine – the lyrics make a lot of sense but nothing special.

Leave a Reply

